unastronaut*

Feet on the ground – head in the clouds.

Eight people are lucky that’s not my little sister

with 2 comments

If you want to make me snap, do dumb crap like this. 8-on-1 is the scumbag way of doing anything. I’m sorry if I forget all about Gandhi when scumbags mess with my loved ones.

I truly hope anyone who hit the girl be tried as an adult. All of the parents of anyone too young to charge as an adult should be tried as accomplices. This is absolutely absurd, and all I can think is that they are truly just lucky she’s not anyone I know, the little sister of anyone I know, or anyone related to me. My hope is that someone in her family is just like me.


I will link the story, but you’ll have to click through to watch the video…I don’t want that crap on my blog.

MySpace war sparks morons to think they can be a YouTube sensation

The suspects were identified as 17-year-old Mercades Nichols, 17-year-old Brittini Hardcastle, 14-year-old April Cooper, 16-year-old Cara Murphy, 17-year-old Britney Mayes and 15-year-old Kayla Hassell. Zachary Ashley, 17, and Stephen Schumaker, 18, were identified by deputies as the lookouts.

One of the parents of the accused, Christina Garcia wondered why the victim talked crap on MySpace if “she didn’t have the nerve to back it up.” That parent is more than pathetic, and the Cops-style white trash interview on the news gives that away. Try them as you would if it were boys doing the same thing. Equality means equal justice, not just equal pay.

UPDATE 04/10/08: They are being tried as adults according to the Ledger. Dan Abrams makes this issue out to be a hot topic, but trying these young women who were acting in a very adult manner as adults is justified. I hope they get their due, and the victim recovers fully and lives an amazing life.

UPDATE 04/11/08: The judge has issued a gag order on the request of Zachary Ashley’s lawyer, urging the trial out of the media. My problem is that he argues the “inflammatory” comments. This is ridiculous, the girls did it to post on YouTube. They wanted people to see them acting like this. It’s absurd to say that information surfacing is somehow inflammatory.

UPDATE 04/12/08: One of the parents, Bob Schumaker was being interviewed and blames the county sheriff for “making a mountain out of a mole-hill” and added that it was one-on-one at all times. He is the father of one of the boys who acted as a lookout.

He’s about to find out what it’s like for an innocent kid who got a call to drive his drunk, rowdy friends home only to find out they planned a drive-by on the way. In that case, he got 13 years in prison. Let’s see if justice is served in this case.

Eight people make it easier to keep one person locked in a house (kidnapping). The man was staggering and stammering drunk, which I am not against on principle. I would just be sober and aware if interviewed about my wreckless child taking part in the kidnapping and assault of a younger girl. It’s pathetic as an excuse and an example for your children.

UPDATE 04/13/08: Isn’t it funny how it’s been two days now since the gag order and I’m still getting things directly from the mainstream media? I guess Geraldo Rivera got half an interview before an interested party came over and informed her of what a gag order meant. This is pretty reprehensible on both Geraldo and the woman’s account. Christina Garcia, one of the mothers said “I don’t think she’s going to do jail time, there’s too much evidence saying she didn’t hit her.” She should soon realize that everyone(at least anyone darker than a paper bag) is tried as an accomplice to a crime that they could have potentially stopped at any point in time.

Friends and classmates seem to be lining up to defend the everyday personalities of the accused. I feel for them, the same way I’ve felt for a lot of people I know who are or were in prison. Like they will pay for what they have done. They shouldn’t get life, but the threat should loom so they don’t feel like it’s ever a slap on the wrist. They also need to prove there will be no retaliatory attacks, since there would be a lot of people to watch. The lookouts are not deserving of as much time, but some time. I’ve seen this all the time, with people who at least seemed to be more innocently in the wrong place at the wrong time. The travesty is that they got exactly what they wanted, 15 minutes of fame.

UPDATE 04/14/08: I feel obligated to add that Dr. Phil came under fire after one of his staff members posted bail for Mercedes Nichols. The unlicensed doctor drew fire earlier in the year for visiting Britney Spears at the UCLA medical center and essentially calling for her to seek serious help. She may need serious help, but Dr. Phil may as well. Coping with falling from stardom must be difficult. Dr. Phil released a statement saying that staff member crossed a line, and the show was scrapped. It’s only right, after they bail out the girl accused of luring the victim to the house. YouTube sensation was their goal, I guess it was only the beginning.

CURIOSITY: I am very curious what the victim thinks is fair. This was a savage beating and it churns my stomach every time I see it. I wonder if I am getting a fair interpretation from the camera (I think so), but it would be interesting to know if the victim wants a longer or lighter sentence for her attackers.

UPDATE 04/15/08: The 911 call made by the victim was played on CNN today, and really tells me a lot about her parents versus my collective impression of the parenting of the accused. This story has been both gut-wrenching and gut-checking to me. The shenanigans of my youth were probably more destructive to property but never, ever this harmful to people. In the call the victim addresses the 911 dispatcher by saying “Yes, ma’am” maintaining a level of composure I wouldn’t have ever expected. It’s easy to see why she was no longer friends with the girls who attacked her.

2 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. I love the way you’re covering this story. Opinionated, but not too slanted.

    AJ

    April 14, 2008 at 8:58 pm

  2. Thanks, I really appreciate you reading.

    unastronaut.

    April 15, 2008 at 3:11 am


Leave a Reply

