unastronaut*

Feet on the ground – head in the clouds.

The New York Times expose Sheriff Joe to the rest of the US

with 2 comments

Despite what J.D. Hayworth says on KFYI and the O’Reilly Factor, Sheriff Joe is more trouble than he’s worth. There are far better ways to rid a community of crime, instead of gorging our prison system with convicts eager to get out of his jails and into a prison. I’m traditionally a hardliner on crime, I just like well-defined limits on what constitutes crime, a fair element to sentencing of violent vs. nonviolent crimes and a cost effective penal system. I’d much rather someone steal my stereo than steal my tax dollars for the next decade.

This New York Times op-ed was a clear account to the rest of America about how business is conducted in Arizona. Numerous accounts of misconduct have flashed across my TV over my years in Arizona, but few as economically sensible as this one. I will say this, I am more cautious because I know about Sheriff Joe and his hardline stance. It is very effective to reasonable people. I know people who drive drunk 200 days a year but have also had no trouble with Sheriff Joe and his posse.

Here’s the original New York Times article.

2 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. I take it you don’t like Sheriff Joe Arpaio? I like the job he is doing and the fact that these illegals get shipped back to mexico, not put in our jails. But good to see this is still a free country where every one can express their truth.

    justmytruth

    April 16, 2008 at 5:33 am

  2. I honestly like Sheriff Joe’s results, I just can’t take the collateral effects. Stuff like this:

    http://search.phoenixnewtimes.com/1997-01-23/news/jailers-show-a-paraplegic-who-s-boss/

    You could argue some of his deputies may abuse their power under such a hardliner on crime. I just think he bears at least some responsibility for the multiple avoidable deaths of people in custody. It may also not be as bad if it were a violent criminal, but two of the bigger stories of custody deaths were handicapped people.

    unastronaut.

    April 16, 2008 at 12:33 pm


Leave a Reply

