unastronaut*

Feet on the ground – head in the clouds.

Dear Pope Benedict,

with 2 comments

His holiness the Pope is now aboard Shepherd One on his way to be greeted by President George W. Bush and later give a mass at Yankee Stadium. The scuttlebutt is aflutter with speculation, anticipation and excitement over Pope Benedict XVI’s first visit to the United States. Pundits and news anchors have given some speculation about what the Pope may address while in the States, and I myself have a few questions.

  • What will he say about Tibet?
  • Will he say anything about the war?

  • Will he address the sex scandals?

  • Will he offer anything about politics or campaign rhetoric or even specifically address the Reverend Wright issue?

  • What other contemporary issues will he address, or will there simply be a one-word theme for the visit?

I know this may sound like I don’t care about his holy message, I care about the entire visit. For the purposes of this blog and my general train of thought, everything is put in a political frame. Most of all I want his visit to be safe and resonate within individuals.

2 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. “Will he offer anything about politics or campaign rhetoric or even specifically address the Reverend Wright issue? “

    I would not anticipate comments on Rev. Wright coming down the wire from B16. From the vantage point of Rome – overseaing the Catholic Church in just about every nation (no churches doesen’t change the fact there are 1M of us in Saudi Arabia!) the comments of a pastor of a presidential candiate probably are not as important to him as we might think they are here in America.

    Actually, speaking for myself, Rev. Wright’s comments factor pretty low on my assesment of Sen. Obama – Obama says enough on his own to judge independent of Rev. Wright.

    asimplesinner

    April 15, 2008 at 8:05 am

  2. I knew it was a stretch, and I myself see it as a non-issue. I’ve had to tell myself to stop talking about it because it doesn’t matter. I only thought there was a chance after a Catholic priest spoke out for Wright and was harshly criticized for it.

    unastronaut.

    April 15, 2008 at 8:55 am


Leave a Reply

